Range reboot

Gretchen's regrets from her big night out began to go well beyond an ill-advised hook up.

Through laziness and trepidation, I have avoided getting my stove fixed for the past two and a half years.  Yes, you read that right.  I have not had a properly functioning stove for most of the time I’ve lived in my current home.

I have a homeowner’s natural aversion to calling repair-people, so I put it off for a long time and only called after determining that I would have to pay about a thousand dollars to replace the stove. Surely repairs couldn’t cost that much.

I should add that the stove’s malfunction is mostly annoying and only partially debilitating. It is primarily the oven that doesn’t work.   The stove top works, but beeps incessantly as long as the power is on.  All my stove top cooking has been done in agitated batches that felt like some kind of NASA astronaut training test. I also make ample use of my toaster oven and microwave.

So I made the call.  I was not surprised to find out that the problem was electronic in nature. My initial research led me to believe that one of the sensors was not working. However, the repairman was familiar with the problem and said that it was the “computer board.”

Really and truly, I have no problem with technology whatsoever.  But of all the places I don’t need a computer, a stove is among the top three. Stoves without computers do pretty much the same thing as the ones that have them: they heat to a preset temperature and maintain that temperature. As a result of the dubious advantage of having an on-board computer, I now have to pay about $260 for the privilege of being able to bake a lasagna.

If I’m forced to have a computer in my stove, I would like to request that an Amana app store be developed. I would like some games like, “Casseroles with Friends” and “Angry Baking Hens”. I would like for my food to check in with a location-based app, “For Dinner”. And I would like an app that orders pizza when I don’t feel like cooking.

This entry was posted in Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Range reboot

  1. kefuoe says:

    So last night I write a post about my over engineered stove, and this afternoon I read this: http://mashable.com/2011/01/09/samsung-tweeting-refrigerator/

Leave a Reply

