Getting to know you

Julietta was able to free-up some time in her shedule by letting her handmaids handle reorganizing her Netflix queue.

I’ve recently had a flurry of job interviews. Despite the jobs themselves being somewhat different, the interview questions were rather similar.  And of course, the main goal is to find out what kind of person I am in the 45-60 minutes allotted for the discussion.

There is part of me that thinks that these interviews really missed the mark.  Having established that a candidate looks good on paper, the interview should be a chance to gauge the intangibles that make someone a good employee and coworker. Plus they are taking my word for it.

It seems similar to my friend’s current quest to enhance her love life. She has thrown caution to the wind and enrolled in a couple of different online matchmaking services, even the one that promises to match you on 29 dimensions of compatibility.  So far, her experiences seem pretty much the opposite of the ubiquitous television ads for the service.  Here again, we are relying on self-reports, and thus high levels of both honesty and self-awareness.

There is “someone” out there that knows me better than I know myself, though.  It’s not a real person; it’s the Netflix, “You might also like” machine. I don’t think that there is any other sentient being  that has had such direct access to all my moods– when I want to laugh, cry, or learn something new. Typical job interviews or dating profiles don’t tap into the subtleties that Netflix is able to detect.

Don’t believe me? Here are two recent categories of movies recommended just for me: Mind-bending Foreign Mother-Daughter Movies;  Understated Mid-life Crisis Dramas. I didn’t know that these were actual movie genres, much less that I would be interested in them.

From now on, I will be attaching a screen shot of my Netflix recommendations with every resume I submit and every personality profile I complete.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

